Odishatv Bureau

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced a revised list of venues for India's upcoming series against the West Indies.

The West Indies will arrive here for a white-ball series comprising three ODIs and as many T20Is commencing February 6.

As per the new schedule, Cuttack Barabati was slated to host the Men in Blue's T20 match against the Indies on February 15 but the venue has now been shifted to Kolkata.

India will lock horns with the West Indies for three ODIs which now will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Similarly, the three T20Is will be held at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, the board said in a circular today.

The decision to limit the series to two venues instead of six as originally announced has been done to mitigate biosecurity risks by cutting down on travel and movement of the teams, match officials, broadcasters, and other stakeholders amid the third wave of COVID pandemic in the country.

Originally the series was to begin in Ahmedabad, the second ODI was to be played in Jaipur on February 9 and the third ODI in Kolkata on February 12. Likewise, the T20 Internationals were earlier planned to be played in Cuttack, Visakhapatnam and Thiruvananthapuram respectively.

Other Stories