Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Team India will lock horns with Bangladesh in their fourth match of the ongoing T20 World Cup at the Adelaide Oval on Wednesday.

Players of both teams will be lined up on the ground to sing their national anthems before the start of the match. Well, it is interesting to know that the national anthems of both countries have been composed by the same legendary poet from India – Rabindranath Tagore.

‘Amar Sonar Bangla’ is the national anthem of Bangladesh which is an ode to Mother Bengal. The lyrics were written by famous Bengali poet Rabindranath Tagore in 1905. The melody of the hymn was adopted from the Baul singer Gagan Harkara’s song ‘Ami Kothay Pabo Tare’ in Dadra Tala. 

Moreover, the first ten lines of this song constitute Bangladesh’s national anthem, adopted in 1971 during their liberation war.

On the other hand, ‘Jana Gana Mana’ is the national anthem of India. It was originally composed as Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore. The first stanza of the song Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India as the National Anthem on January 24, 1950.

India’s national anthem conveys the spirit of pluralism. It also signifies the concept of ‘Unity in Diversity, which lies at the core of India’s cultural heritage.

Notably, the Super 12 match will be all-important for both teams for taking one more step to seal their semifinal berth in the mega event.