• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
India registered her 7th straight T20 series win on home soil with 3-0 drubbing of Sri Lanka on Sunday. It was India's 12th successive T20I win, the joint-longest winning streak for a full member.

Under Rohit Sharma's captaincy, India registered a 3-0 win over New Zealand at home last year and they thrashed West Indies 3-0 earlier this month to go to the top spot of ICC T20I Rankings. And with the sweep of Sri Lanka, India are set to retain the numero uno position.

India produced a clinical all-round performance to beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the third T20I to complete the 3-0 clean sweep, at the picturesque HPCA Stadium.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, a courageous fifty from skipper Dasun Shanaka helped Sri Lanka post 146/5 in 20 overs. The likes of Avesh Khan (2/23), Mohammed Siraj (1/22), Harshal Patel (1/29), Ravi Bishnoi (1/32) picked wickets at regular intervals to keep Sri Lanka on the backfoot before Shanaka played a solid knock to help his team post a fighting total.

Chasing a challenging total, India were off to a poor start as Dushmantha Chameera dismissed Rohit Sharma (5) in the second over of the innings. Sheyas Iyer then joined make-shift opener Sanju Samson at the crease and kept the scoreboard moving at a brisk pace from the word go.

Despite losing partners frequently, Iyer never took the foot off the pedal, punishing the Sri Lanka bowlers every time they missed the mark even by a whisker and his half-century came off only 29 balls.

Venkatesh Iyer (5) who batted at No 5 got out cheaply but Shreyas and Ravindra Jadeja ensured that India didn't lose any more wickets. In the end, Shreyas and Jadeja (22 not out off 15) remained not out as India sealed yet another comfortable run-chase, scurrying past Sri Lanka's total of 146/5 with 3.1 overs to spare.

Other Stories