Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Odisha star defender Deep Grace Ekka has been named vice-captain of the Indian team for the forthcoming FIH Women’s Nations Cup being held for the first time in 2022.

Hockey India on Wednesday named the 20-member Indian women’s hockey team for the tournament. The FIH Women’s Nations Cup is an important fixture in the international calendar as it brings in a system of promotion-relegation, where the champions will be promoted to the FIH Hockey Women’s Pro League’s 2023-2024 season.

India are grouped in pool B along with Canada, Japan and South Africa. The other teams in the fray are Ireland, Italy, Korea and Spain who are grouped in pool A.

Savita has been named the captain for the tournament along with Deep Grace as her deputy. Young forward Beauty Dungdung is all-set to make her international debut at the FIH Nations Cup while experienced midfielder Navjot Kaur returns to the squad after she missed out the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022 after testing positive for Covid 19.

The team includes Bichu Devi Kharibam in the squad along with Savita as goalkeepers while Deep Grace will be joined by Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, Udita and Ishika Chaudhary as defenders.

The midfield will feature Nisha, Salima Tete, Sushila Chanu Kharibam, Monika, Neha, Sonika, Jyoti and Navjot Kaur while forwardline includes the experienced Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur, Sangita Kumari and Beauty Dungdung.

The Indian women’s team, who recently won the Bronze medal at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022, made their debut in the 2021-22 FIH Pro League. India put up an impressive campaign in their maiden appearance finishing behind Argentina and the Netherlands. The team will be looking to win the FIH Women’s Nations Cup to make their second FIH Pro League appearance in 2023-2024.

Indian Women’s team: 


1. Savita (Captain) 
2. Bichu Devi Kharibam 
3. Deep Grace Ekka (Vice Captain) 
4.Gurjit Kaur
5. Nikki Pradhan
6. Udita 
7. Ishika Chaudhary 


8. Nisha
9. Salima Tete
10. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam
11. Monika
12. Neha
13. Sonika
14. Jyoti 
15. Navjot Kaur


16. Vandana Katariya
17. Lalremsiami
18. Navneet Kaur
19. Sangita Kumari 
20. Beauty Dungdung.