Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Lower-ranked Japan stunned Spain during the last group match at the ongoing FIFA World Cup in Qatar. Japan’s win meant that title contenders Germany were eliminated from the mega event. 

However, the second goal scored by Japan has triggered a fresh controversy. Fans are not sure whether the ball was in play or out. Different camera angles show different things and that has caught the interest of netizens. 

The second goal saw Kaoru Mitoma crossing the ball to Ao Tanaka who dumped it into the Spanish net. It had initially been ruled out by the linesman but after a lengthy VAR check, the goal was allowed.

Talking about the controversial goal, Tanaka said, “From my angle, I think the ball was clearly half out, but more than that I could not see because of the speed.”
“I was concentrating in scoring. There was always a possibility that it was out … But in the end it was a goal, so that was great,” he added.

However all said and done, Japan have played brilliantly and really deserve to be in knockouts. Japan finished at the top of Group E and will next face Croatia.