Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

India registered an emphatic victory by massive 120 runs against Bangladesh in the final to lift the Blind T20 Word Cup 2022 title for an unprecedented third consecutive time at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Batting first, India scored a resounding total of 277 runs in the stipulated 20 overs as batters Sunil Ramesh (136 no, 63b) and Ajay Kumar Reddy (100 no, 50b) hit individual centuries and stitched a record 247-run partnership for the third wicket. In reply, Bangladesh failed to reach the mark and were restricted for only 157 runs, handing the hosts a convincing victory by 120 runs.

India’s victory makes them the most successful team in Blind cricket history after they added a third T20I World Cup victory to their two ODI World Cup titles.

Australia, Bangladesh, Nepal, South Africa, and Sri Lanka were the other teams who competed in the third edition of the competition. India had previously won the title in 2012 and 2017. They completed a hat-trick of wins by defeating Bangladesh in the final.

India were ruthless throughout the competition and entered the title clash with a crushing victory over South Africa. At the Samprasiddhi Sports Ground in Bangalore, India trounced the Proteas by a huge margin of 207 runs after setting a record-breaking target of 338 runs.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the Indian team for the huge success.

“India is proud of our athletes. Delighted that we have won the T-20 World Cup for the Blind. Congratulations to our team and best wishes to them for their future endeavours,” Modi tweeted.