Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Since its inception, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has given innumerable iconic moments to its avid supporters. In every season, drama, zeal, and suspense have been integral parts of the cash-rich league to raise the excitement level of fans. As the 2024 edition of the T20 extravaganza is currently underway, the followers would like to cherish some proud moments that they got in this long and beautiful journey.

Record Partnership

In IPL 2016, star batters Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers played a vital role in making Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) campaign memorable for their fans. In the 44th match of the edition, Kohli and De Villiers stitched a 229-run record partnership to help their team post a colossal total of 248/3. In the process, both the batters scored tons which helped their team to rout the opponents by record 144 runs.

Unprecedented Feat

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) player Pat Cummins achieved an unprecedented feat in the 15th edition of IPL. The Australian cricketer smashed the unbeaten fastest half-century of the tournament against Mumbai Indians (MI). With the innings, Cummins equalled KL Rahul’s record of the fastest fifty against Delhi Capitals (DC). Riding on Cummins’ unbeaten 56-run knock that came off 15 deliveries, KKR took the match away from MI with five wickets in hand.

Unforgettable Cameo

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) all-rounder Andre Russell played an unforgettable cameo against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to take his team home with five wickets in hand. With 53 runs required off just 18 balls, Russell hit an unbeaten 48 off 13 to snatch the match from RCB’s control.

Furious Knock

In the first edition of the T20 extravaganza, Rajasthan Royals (RR) explosive all-rounder Yusuf Pathan stole the show with his whirlwind ton from just 37 deliveries against Mumbai Indians (MI). Though MI won the game by four runs, Yusuf’s innings stole all the limelight.

Underdog’ Title Triumph

Despite being underrated, Rajasthan Royals outstanding title triumph in the maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) is part of the folklore. The franchise played quality cricket under the inspiring leadership of Australia great Shane Warne throughout the tournament.

Victorious Return

Following two-year ban, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) returned to the cash-rich league in 2018. Under the stewardship of ‘Captain Cool’ MS Dhoni, the yellow brigade clinched the title.

Extraordinary Bowling

With 22 wickets in 11 matches at an economy of 6.46, Rajasthan Royals’ speedster Sohail Tanvir became the first Purple Cap winner in the Indian Premier League.

Stunning Knock

In IPL 2008, KKR opener Brendon McCullum made the IPL opening match memorable with his stunning performance against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). The current England Test coach and the former swashbuckling batter played a massive knock of 158 runs in just 73 deliveries. It is still considered as one of the best aggressive knocks in IPL history.

Leading From The Front

Legendry spinner Anil Kumble led from the front to help Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) grab a sensational victory against Rajasthan Royals (RR). Taking advantage of the bowling surface, the RCB skipper fetched an impressive figure of 5/5 in 3.1 overs and destroyed Rajastan’s batting unit single handedly.

Gayle Storm

Explosive West Indies batter Chris Gayle broke various records in his vast IPL career. In 2011, the veteran swashbuckling batter joined the Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB) camp and became an integral part of the franchise due to his stunning batting performance in the season. Utilising his unprecedented batting prowess, the Caribbean player became the first player to bag Orange Cap in two consecutive IPL seasons (2011 & 2012).

In 2013, he added another achievement to his name. This time, he scored an unbeaten 175-run knock against Pune Warriors India (PWI). His colossal innings was studded with 30 boundaries (13 fours and 17 sixes).