Rashmi Rekha Das

Political parties have started chalking out master plans for the by-election to the Padmapur assembly constituency in Bargarh district which is scheduled to be held on December 5.

According to sources, BJD has changed its strategy after facing a defeat in the recently concluded Dhamnagar bypoll. 

Going by the blueprint, veteran leader Prasanna Acharya will look after election campaigning and management things at Padmapur. Besides, three ministers have been allotted one block each as part of party’s strategy to woo voters. Niranjan Pujari will look after Padmapur block while Naba Das has been given the charge of Paikamal block and Rajendra Dholakia has been allotted Jharibandha block.

Besides, leaders belonging to the western district have been given zonal duty. BJD’s prominent faces like Tukuni Sahu, Debesh Acharya, Snehangini Chhuria, Rita Sahu, Saroj Meher and Puspendra Singhdeo have been asked to campaign for the party at the grassroots level. 

Meanwhile, Bharatiya Janata Party has decided to leave no stone unturned to win the bypoll on a spree. After winning Dhamnagar bypoll, the saffron party seems to have accumulated more strength for the Padmaour bypoll. 

Briefing media, General Secretary of BJP Prithiviraj Harichandan said, “BJP’s Odisha’s in-charge Sunil Bansal and veteran leader Daggubati Purandeswari will visit Odisha ahead of bypoll. Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari, Kalahandi MP Basant Panda and Opposition leader Jay Narayan Mishra have been asked to intensify election campaigning at Padmapur. BJP leaders from the Western Odisha have been asked to remain present at Padmapur during election.” 

At the same time, Congress leader Santosh Singh Saluja is confident of his party’s win in the by-election.