• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Suryakant Jena

The Odisha government on Friday re-published the draft list of reservations for the post of Zilla Parishad (ZP) Presidents across the State ahead of the forthcoming elections to the Panchayat Elections.

As per the notification of the draft list issued by the Panchayati Raj department, 10 ZP chief posts have been kept for unreserved category. Similarly, candidates from the Scheduled Caste (SC) category can fight for the ZP president posts in the districts of Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Boudh, Bhadrak and Jajpur.

The ZP president posts have been reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates in the districts of Kandhamal, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Mayurbhanj, Malkangiri, Rayagada and Sundargarh.

Apart from that, 50 per cent of seats have been booked for women candidates.

The State government has asked the public to submit suggestions or objections within 10 days of the notification of the issue of the draft list or by 5.30 pm of January 3, 2022.

People interested to file their suggestions and objections can do so through the official mail dir-pr.od@gov.in or prsec.or@nic

It may be noted that the Orissa High Court on Wednesday asked the State government to take up fresh draft notification on the reservation to offices of three-tier Panchayati Raj bodies.

The government has been directed to invite objections on the reservation guidelines till January 3, 2022, and resolve the objections by January 5. It would submit the final reservation list to the State Election Commission (SEC) on January 7 so that the notification for the panchayat elections is issued on January 8.

Other Stories