Pradeep Pattanayak

Three new Ministers namely Bikram Keshari Arukha, Sarada Nayak and Sudam Marndi have been inducted into the council of ministers of Naveen Patnaik. Governor Ganeshi Lal administered them the oath of office and secrecy at Lok Seva Bhawan on Monday. 

Bikram Keshari Arukha was the first minister to take oath of office and secrecy. The following ministers were Sudam Marndi and Sarada Nayak. 

Meanwhile, Bikram Keshari Arukha has been given the Finance portfolio. Similarly, the School and Mass Education and Labour & Employees' State Insurance departments have gone to Sudam Marndi and Sarada Nayak respectively.  

With the induction of the three ministers, the number of ministers in the Odisha’s council of Ministers has gone up to 22. Bikram Keshari Arukha, Sudam Marndi and Sarada Nayak are the legislators of Bhanjanagar, Bangriposi and Rourkela respectively. 

Last week, School and Mass Education Minister Samir Ranjan Dash and Labour Minister Srikant Sahu resigned from their posts. Similarly, the post of the Health Minister was also lying vacant since the assassination of then Health Minister Naba Dash. 

However, the suspense over the Odisha Legislative Assembly’s Speaker post still persists.


  • Reported by: