Pradeep Pattanayak

After the elections to Cuttack and Berhampur Deputy Mayor post, the focus of political community has now shifted to the hot seat of Bhubaneswar where presence of a number of probable candidates in the battle field has made the election full of suspense. 

Bhubaneswar city comprises three Assembly segments. Talks are doing rounds that the Deputy Mayor candidate will be from the segment whose MLA enjoys a clout in the party. 

Given Sulochana Das elected as the Mayor of the BMC, it is widely speculated that a young male corporator either from minority community or scheduled tribe may be the next Deputy Mayor. It can’t be ruled out that like Cuttack, a corportaor from slum areas may also get a chance. 

Considering the speculations, Lalmohan Tudu, Noor Hassan and Premananda Jena, corporators of Ward nos-8, 10 and 20 respectively, are said to be frontrunners for the post. Those apart, two senior corporators Amaresh Jena (Ward no 45) and Biranchi Narayan Mahasupakar (Ward no-59) are also said to be in the race. 

“Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will choose such a candidate who will be appropriate for the BMC’s Deputy Mayor post and the city dwellers,” said Bhubaneswar Central MLA Ananta Narayan Jena. 

A piquant situation had unfolded in Berhampur Deputy Mayor election with MLA Bikram Panda, Ganjam district BJD President Ramesh Chandra Chyau Patnaik and the Chief Minister’s political secretary Gopabandhu Das lobbying for their respective candidates. However, Vivek Reddy, supported by Gopabandhu Das, grabbed the post. 

The youngest corporator in Cuttack city, Damayanti Majhi has become the Deputy Mayor of the CMC. 

While BeMC’s newly elected Vivek Reddy is thankful for CM Naveen, Ganjam district BJD President Ramesh Chandra Chyau Patnaik said they extend full cooperation to Reddy. 

Notably, the oath taking ceremony at BMC will start at 9 AM on Saturday. After Mayor Sulochana Das, corporators will be administered the oath. Thereafter, Deputy Mayor election will be held.