• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Pradeep Pattanayak

The elections for the Deputy Mayor posts of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC), Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC) and Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) will be held on April 7, 8 and 9 respectively. Similarly, Vice Chairperson elections for 47 municipalities and 58 NACs will be held on April 7, informed the State Election Commission (SEC) secretary Rabindranath Sahu on Wednesday. 

For the post of Deputy Mayor, the process of filing nominations will begin at 10 AM, and it will continue till 11AM. The verification of nomination papers will last for one hour, starting 11 AM. Similarly, the process for withdrawal of nomination papers will continue till 1 PM. 

The election will begin from 1:30PM and go on till 3PM. Thereafter, the counting will be held and the results announced. 

Similarly, in case of municipalities and NACs, the timings for filing, verification, withdrawal of nomination papers, voting and counting of votes are the same as those of Corporations. 

“The State Election Commission has already appointed Election Officers. For law and order situation, deployment of police force has been arranged at the polling centres. These centres are under CCTV camera surveillance. The entire process will also be videographed,” informed Sahu. 

In case of a draw, the winner will be decided through drawing lots. The aspirant, whose name comes first in the lot, will be declared the winner, Sahu added. 

Other Stories