Suryakant Jena

The Odisha State Election Commission (SEC) has informed that the average voter turnout in 3 Municipal Corporations of the State is 21 percent while around 32 percent of total voters have exercised their franchise in other urban local bodies till 12 pm on Thursday.

SEC Secretary RN Sahu informed the media that polling to all the municipalities, NACs and municipal corporations are underway in a smooth manner without any untoward incidents.

On some issues regarding people failing to cast their votes due to non-availability of their names in electoral rolls, Sahu said voters were given ample time and opportunity to check their names in the list. So anyone found missing from the voter list will not be allowed to vote.

Elections to a total of 109 urban local bodies are underway at 4475 booths spread across the State under tight security.

Over 40 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 47 municipalities, 59 NACs & 3 municipal corporations till 5 pm today. In order to ensure a smooth election, the Odisha police has deployed 195 platoons of police force & 22000 polling personnel on duty.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, senior Congress leader Narasingha Mishra, BJP MP Basant Panda, Congress lawmaker in Lok Sabha, Saptagiri Ulaka, minister Tukuni Sahoo and many other notable political leaders and other personalities were seen casting their votes in the urban elections.

Mayoral candidates of all major political parties vying for Bhubaneswar and Cuttack Municipal Corporations also cast their votes.