Rashmi Ranjan

With just few hours remaining before the deadline of nomination filing for the ensuing Urban Local Body (ULB) polls expires in Odisha, candidates have started to rush in large numbers to file their papers at election offices across the State. 

The process to file nomination which kicked off on March 2 will conclude today, while the papers will be scrutinised on March 9. 

Candidates will have the option to withdraw their nominations by March 14.

The elections to 106 Municipalities/NACs and three Municipal Corporations at Cuttack, Bhubaneswar and Berhampur will be held on March 24 and the counting of votes will be held on March 26. 

For the first time, the State will go for direct election to the posts of Mayor along with Chairperson of 106 municipalities and NACs.
The election for vice chairperson and deputy mayor posts will be held on April 7 and 8 respectively.

This time, the government has reserved the Mayor chair in Bhubaneswar and Berhampur for women candidates while the post in CMC has been kept unreserved.

The last Municipal elections were held in the State in 2013-14 to a total of 94 ULBs. The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) had won 70 ULBs, Congress 15, BJP 2 and Independents 6.

Meanwhile, the Congress today declared party leader Manju Ratha as nominee for the Mayoral election to the Berhampur Municipal Corporation.