• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Tripura BJP President Manik Saha is all set to replace Biplab Kumar Deb, who tendered his resignation to Governor today, as the state’s new Chief Minister.

He will be sworn in as the new Tripura CM on Sunday (10 am). Manik Saha will be the new Chief Minister of Tripura, Union Minister and BJP central observer, Bhupender Yadav tweeted today.



Saha, a dental surgeon turned politician had joined the BJP in 2016, and was made the party’s state president in 2020. In March 2022, Saha was elected to Tripura's lone Rajya Sabha seat.

Speaking to reporters after tendering his resignation earlier today, Biplab Deb said, "The party is supreme. I respect the decision of the party and I thank Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah for guiding me. I will continue to work for Tripura's overall development."

Later, the former Tripura CM felicitated Manik Saha after the big announcment by the party.



Ending the 25 years of Left Front rule, BJP stormed to power in 2018 and had made Deb the CM of Tripura. Reportedly, Deb's resignation comes in the lead-up to the 2023 Tripura polls.

Other Stories