Odishatv Bureau

Voting for the fifth phase of the General Elections 2024 is underway in 49 constituencies across six states and two Union territories. The voting is underway in Maharashtra, Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. The fate of as many as 695 candidates including some prominent Ministers and MPs will be sealed today.

Know Key Candidates in Phase 5 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Rahul Gandhi (Rae Bareli, UP): Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is in the fray from the Rae Bareli seat. The seat is Nehru-Gandhi family stronghold that has been vacated by Rahul’s mother Sonia Gandhi. BJP has fielded UP Minister Dinesh Pratap Singh as its candidate from Raebareli.

Smriti Irani (Amethi, UP): Senior BJP leader Smriti Irani is pitted against Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma in Amethi. This is Irani’s third election from Amethi after losing in 2014 to Rahul Gandhi by 1 lakh votes and winning in 2019 by a massive margin of around 55,000 votes. Amethi has been a stronghold of the Congress party for decades. However, Irani won the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 against Rahul, ending the Gandhi family’s stint there.

Rajnath Singh (Lucknow, UP): BJP stalwart Rajnath Singh will lock horns against Samajwadi Party candidate Ravidas Mehrotra from this seat.

Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Bihar): Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) President will contest against RJD’s Chandra Ram.

Rohini Acharya (Saran, Bihar): RJD leader and daughter of the party supremo and former Bihar Chief Minister, Lalu Prasad, will contest from Saran. She will fight against BJP’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North): Union Minister and BJD leader Piyush Goyal is contesting from Mumbai North. Goyal will lock horns against Congress candidate Bhushan Patil.

Arvind Sawant (Mumbai South, Maharashtra): The Maha Vikas Aghadi has fielded two-time MP and Shiv Sena UBT leader Arvind Sawant from this seat. He is fielded against Yamini Jadhav, a CM Shinde-led Shiv Sena leader who is currently the MLA from the Byculla Assembly seat.

Ujjwal Nikam (Mumbai North-Central): BJP has replaced Poonam Mahajan and granted a ticket to prominent lawyer Ujjwal Nikam, who was the special public prosecutor in the Mumbai terror attack and 1993 serial blasts cases. Nikam will fight against Congress leader Varsha Gaikwad.

LIVE | Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 5 Polling

Omar Abdullah (Baramulla, Jammu and Kashmir): National Conference vice-president Omar Abdullah is contesting from the Baramulla Lok Sabha seat. Abdullah will lock horns against Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party candidate Fayaz Ahmad Mir and Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference’s Sajjad Gani Lone.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now