Cassian Baliarsingh

After being denied a ticket, former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Kharabela Swain on Monday announced to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha 2024 elections as an Independent candidate. The veteran leader's decision came after the BJP renominated present MP Pratap Sarangi from the Balasore Parliamentary seat.

 “Kharabela Swain is not an ordinary person. I’m someone who has left his civil service job to join politics. I am an eight-time Parliament candidate. The Central Intelligence report has proved that I will emerge victorious from Balasore and even Kandhamal. However, they have rejected by candidature,” the former MP said.

“ I have decided to fight as an independent candidate and show my worth,” Swain added.

Interestingly, Swain is confident that he will win as an Independent candidate and later join the BJP after his big win. Despite not getting a ticket from the BJP, Swain stated that he would not quit the Saffron party.

Notably, Swain is the founder of the new political party Utkal Bharat on February 2, 2010.