Suryakant Jena

Former lawmaker from Biju Janata Dal Sanjeev Sahoo has parted ways with the ruling party. Sahu informed about his decision to quit from the active membership of the BJD through a resignation letter to party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday.

A four-time MLA from BJD, Sanjeeb was elected to the State Assembly from Birmaharajpur constituency in 2003 Bypoll and then again in 2004 general elections. He was subsequently elected as a legislator from Athamalik Assembly constituency on two consecutive terms during the general elections in 2009 and 2014.

However, the BJD had not granted ticket to the veteran leader during the last elections in 2019. It was believed that the development had sparked dissension between his side and the ruling party. 

Sahoo was a minister of State in Panchayati Raj department from 2006 to 2008, minister of State (independent) in Science and Technology department between 2006 and 2008. As per sources, Sahoo also headed the post of Minister of State (independent) of School and Mass Education department and Commerce and Transport department from 2008 to 2009 and from 2009 to 2012 respectively.

Sahoo cited personal reasons behind quitting BJD. Reacting to the media after the development, even though he did not specifically mention whether he was joining any Opposition parties, but he mentioned that 'time will tell' about his next course of action. He however assured to continue his active politics in view of the upcoming Panchayat Elections.