Odishatv Bureau

Former minister and senior BJD MLA from Bhanjanagar, Bikram Keshari Arukh is likely to be appointed as the new Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly. 

Earlier in the day, incumbent Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro resigned from his post. Patro submitted his resignation letter to Deputy Speaker Rajani Kant Singh.

It is also learnt that Jagatsinghpur MLA Prasanta Kumar Muduli is likely to get a new assignment. As per sources, Muduli may be appointed as the party chief whip. Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher is likely to be named as deputy chief whip of the party.

It is worth mentioning here that all 20 Ministers of the BJD-led Odisha government resigned from their respective posts as party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik wanted a major revamp of the cabinet. 

The new ministers are expected to take the oath of office at 11.45 am at a function to be held at the Convention Centre on the premises of the Lok Seva Bhavan on Sunday.