Suryakant Jena

The Election Commission of India on Friday released the schedule for conduct of the by-election to the Council of States from Odisha. 

The ECI has decided to hold bypoll to a single Rajya Sabha post left vacant on April 21, 2022, after the resignation of BJD leader Subhash Singh as the Member of the Parliament following his election as Mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation. The term of the member elected in the by-election will expire on April 2, 2026.

According to the poll schedule issued by the Election Commission, the notifications will be issued on May 26.

The last date for filing nominations is June 2 while the scrutiny of the papers will be conducted on June 3. Similarly, the last date of withdrawal of candidatures has been scheduled for June 6. 

The polling will be conducted between 9 am and 4 pm on June 13. Counting of votes will be held on the same day at 5 pm. 

The ECI has ordered completion of the entire election process by June 17.

The Chief Secretary of Odisha has been directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the exact instructions regarding COVID containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the by-election.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now