Anirbaan Hritiq

Ahead of the high-octane Dhamnagar by-election, which is scheduled to be held on November 3, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released a list of its star campaigners.

The BJP's National General Secretary and State in-charge Arun Singh had earlier sent a letter to the Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar which featured the names of 40 star campaigners for the upcoming by-poll. 

Odisha BJP President Samir Mohanty along with three union ministers- Dharmendra Pradhan, Ashwini Vaishnaw, and Bisweswar Tudu has been listed as the star campaigner. 

BJP National Vice-President Baijayant Panda, LoP Jayanarayan Mishra, and senior leaders Sunil Bansal, Sambit Patra, Jual Oram and Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi are also the star campaigners to woo the voters. 

Senior BJP leader Late Bishnu Sethi had won the Dhamnagar Assembly constituency seat in 2019 by a margin of 4,625 votes by defeating the ruling BJD’s candidate, Rajendra Das.

The BJD has named Abanti Das who is currently serving as the Block Chairman of Tihidi as its candidate while Congress has chosen Baba Harekrushna Sethi to contest with BJP’s candidate Suryavanshi Suraj Sthitaprajna, son of Bishnu Sethi whose death has necessitated the bypoll.