Mrunal Manmay Dash

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Friday held a closed-door meeting for the upcoming by-elections in the Jharsuguda Assembly Constituency, which is lying vacant after the death of Naba Kishore Das.

As per reports, the names of the BJD observers in all the blocks under the Jharsuguda Assembly Constituency were also finalised in the meeting. While Prasanna Acharya, Debi Prasad Mishra, and Sharada Nayak were appointed as the observers for the Assembly seat, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, Tukuni Sahu, Niranjan Pujari, Niranjan Pujari, Saroj Meher, Padmanabh Behera, Arun Sahoo, Pratap Keshari Deb and Dibya Shankar Mishra have been made BJD's observers in block level.  

“This was BJD’s first meeting on the bypoll preparations in Jharsuguda. Observers including Pranab Prakash Das, Prasanna Acharya, Debi Prasad Mishra, and Sharada Nayak were present at the meeting. By looking at the enthusiasm and preparations of our party members, I can assure that we will win the next bypoll with a big margin,” said daughter of late Naba Das and BJD candidate, Dipali Das.

"Jharsuguda has seen development during the leadership of my father Naba Kishore Das, and I will make sure, the developmental works continue in the future too," she asserted.

Speaking about the meeting, BJD leader Prasanna Acharya said, “We discussed the forthcoming byelection. As far as the agenda of the meeting is concerned, we have only one agenda and that is development.”

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also stepped up its campaign in the Constituency. With Tankadhara Tripathi and other leaders at the helm, the BJP is trying to woe the voters as well.

Odisha BJP Chief, Manmohan Samal who was in Delhi to meet BJP's Central leadership, said, "We have a Parliamentary party meeting the day after. We have already sent the list of probable candidates to the High Command at Delhi. The parliamentary party will take the decision basing on the eligibility criteria."

The formal notification for the bypoll will be released on April 13.

While submission of nominations for the bypoll will continue till April 20, scrutiny of the same will be held on April 21. Nominations for the by-election can be withdrawn by April 24.

Voting for the Assembly Constituency will be held on May 10 and the counting of votes will be done on May 13.

(Reported By Bhagirathi Sahu, OTV)