Pradeep Pattanayak

After the defeat of the 24-year-long BJD-led government and the resounding victory registered by the BJP, all eyes are now set on who is going to be sworn in as the next Chief Minister of Odisha. 

While several names for the most coveted post are doing the rounds, the name of state BJP President Manmohan Samal tops the list. Similarly, the names of newly elected Kendrapara MP Baijayant Panda, Sambalpur MP Dharmendra Pradhan, Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra, Patnagarh MLA Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo, Brajarajnagar MLA Suresh Pujari are also in the pith of discussion. 

Meanwhile, it is being discussed that a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs of BJP will be held on June 10, morning where the central observer will reveal the name of the new CM for Odisha. The name will be officially announced after the consensus in the MLAs’ meeting. Thereafter, as per the announcement made, the new CM will be administered the oath of office. 

Also Read | 'Pandian not my successor': Outgoing CM Naveen Patnaik breaks silence on poll debacle, criticism on health

At a time when the people of Odisha are waiting eagerly to know who is going to be the next CM, preparations are underway for the swearing-in ceremony to be held at Janata Maidan ground. While a large stage is being set up, people engaged to put up tents are working round the clock. 

“As the people of Odisha have blessed the BJP, they are going to witness this historic event. Even though it is a government programme, but from the party point of view we are going to make it more attractive,” said BJP leader Dilip Mohanty. 

Informing about security arrangements, Odisha DGP, Arun Sarangi said, “We have made elaborate security arrangements for the swearing-in ceremony to be held on June 10. Once the time of the event is fixed, we will make our plan accordingly. We have already deployed adequate forces and officers. The Special Protection Group (SPG), carcade vehicle, bulletproof vehicle and technical vehicle have also arrived. We have the information that the Prime Minister is coming.” 

As per reports, Rural Development Minister of Madhya Pradesh Vishwas Kailash Sarang and former Organisation Secretary Asutosh Tiwari have reached Bhubaneswar. They are holding discussions with the state leaders. These two senior leaders will manage the swearing-in ceremony that is scheduled to be held at Janata Maidan on June 10.

  • Reported by:

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now