Mrunal Manmay Dash

The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions issued breach of privilege notices to Sambalpur Collector, Ananya Das and the District Superintendent of Police, B Gangadhar.

The notices were issued in connection with the detention of BJP leaders including Union Minister Bishwesar Tudu, Bargarh MP Suesh Pujari, and State BJP president Manmohan Samal by the Sambalpur Police at Thelkoli Police station when they were on their way to meet the victims of Sambalpur violence on April 18.

As per reports, following the detention, BJP MPs Suresh Pujari, Jual Oram, and Basant Panda alleged a breach of privilege by the Sambalpur SP and Collector before the Lok Sabha Speaker demanding action against them.

Taking the matter seriously, the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions served breach of privilege notices to the concerned officials and sought a report within 15 days.

The BJP delegation was on its way to Sambalpur from Jharsuguda to take stock of the situation when they were detained at Thelkoli Police Station. Reacting to the detention, Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari had said, “The Collector does not have any rights. When the curfew is relaxed, everybody is allowed to move out for work. The police said that the curfew is not relaxed for people’s representatives. The order of the Collector is illegal.”

Later that evening, all the detained BJP leaders were released by the police.

  • Reported by: