Odishatv Bureau

The President of India appointed Raghubar Das as the new Governor of Odisha. The appointment was confirmed by a press communiqué from the Rashtrapati Bhawan on Wednesday. 

The appointment will take effect from the date Raghubar Das assumes charge of the office. 

Ragubar Das, the former CM of Jharkhand, will replace outgoing Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal.

Apart from Raghubar Das, BJP leader Indrasena Reddy Nallu has been appointed as the Governor of Tripura.

Raghubar Das is currently the national vice president of the BJP. He was the Chief Minister of Jharkhand from 2014 to 2019. He was elected as a legislator five times in Jharkhand. 

The tenure of the incumbent Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal ended on May 29 this year. Later his term was extended. Ganeshi Lal had taken oath as the Governor of Odisha on May 29, 2018.