Vikash Sharma

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik skipped the meeting of the 8th Governing Council of the Niti Aayog held in New Delhi today. Prime Minister Narendra Modi chaired the meeting of the Governing Council of Niti Aayog at the newly-constructed Convention Centre in Pragati Maidan.

The theme of the Governing Council meeting is "Viksit Bharat @2047: Role of Team India".

Apart from Odisha, Chief Ministers of several states, including Arvind Kejriwal (Delhi), Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Bhagwant Mann (Punjab), Nitish Kumar (Bihar), K. Chandrashekar Rao (Telangana), M.K. Stalin (Tamil Nadu), Ashok Gehlot (Rajasthan) and Pinarayi Vijayan (Kerala) -- chose not to participate in the meeting over several issues.

No official statement has been released by the CMO regarding Odisha skipping the crucial meeting. As only CMs are allowed to participate in the Niti Aayog meeting, the state has lost a chance to present its stand and demand over several key issues.

Senior journalist, Rabi Das said that the Niti Aayog meeting is the best platform to cement the federal structure and cooperation between states and the Centre.

“After Planning Commission, Niti Aayog is now the platform where the state’s issues and other aspects for development are discussed. Till yesterday, I had information that Odisha CM will join the meeting,” said Das.

Das further said that CM Naveen Patnaik is reviewing the performance of several departments which might be the reason behind skipping the meeting. However, as BJD had earlier announced to attend the inauguration of the new Parliament building, skipping the Niti Aayog might also be a political statement.

“We have not received any formal communiqué from the government regarding CM Naveen skipping the Niti Aayog’s governing council meeting. The CMs of other states have boycotted the meeting in protest and several issues,” Das added.

  • Reported by: