Rashmi Ranjan

The Odisha unit of the BJP on Sunday constituted two committees for effective poll management ahead of Jharsuguda bypoll scheduled on May 10.

According to sources, while an eight-member committee will be headed by former Union Minister and Sundargarh MP Jual Oram, Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari will lead a 14-member committee. 

The committees will look after the party’s efficient electioneering for the Jharsuguda by-election, sources informed.

The eight-member panel consists of Leader of Opposition (LoP) Jaynarayan Mishra, KV Singhdeo, Suresh Pujari, Basant Panda, Samir Mohanty, Rabi Narayan Nayak and Golak Prasad Mohapatra.

Similarly, the 14-member committee comprises former Union Minister Pratap Sarangi, Bolangir MP Sangeeta Singhdeo, Sambalpur MP Nitesh Gang Deb, Opposition Chief Whip Mohan Majhi, Shankar Oram, Nauri Naik, Subhas Panigrahi, Pradip Purohit, Ranjan Kumar Patel, Nityanand Gond, Bhabani Shankar Bhoi, Kusum Tete and Mukesh Mahaling. 

Notably, the BJP has fielded Tankadhar Tripathy as its candidate for the Jharsuguda bypoll.

Tankadhar will be contesting against BJD candidate Dipali Das & Congress' Tarun Pandey.

It is worthwhile to mention here that, the voting for the Assembly Constituency will be held on May 10 and the counting of the votes will be done on May 13. 

While submission of nominations for the bypoll will continue till April 20, scrutiny of the same will be held on April 21. Nominations for the by-election can be withdrawn till April 24.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now