Pradeep Pattanayak

The stage is set for voting for the by-election to Jharsuguda Assembly constituency which will take place on May 10. Election officials on Monday reached Jharsuguda Engineering School for the bypoll. 

Today morning, Jharsuguda Engineering School came alive with all election-related activities after the arrival of polling officials. From here they will leave for their designated booths, it was learnt. 

On the other hand, the campaigning by the political parties has hit the fever pitch in Jharsuguda as the time for campaigning will end today evening. The political parties are leaving no stone unturned to make most of the time available to them.  

Also Read: Jharsuguda bypoll: BJP unleashes veiled attack on BJD, says ‘Kalapahadas’ are ruling Odisha 

The Biju Janata Dal’s candidate Dipali Das, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Tankadhar Tripathy and the Congress nominee Tarun Pandey are making their last-ditch efforts to woo the voters. On the last day of the campaigning, they are seen going door-to-door. The star campaigners camped in Jharsuguda are also going out of their way to ensure the victory of their respective candidates. They will leave Jharsuguda this evening. 

Notably, the assassination of Jharsuguda’s sitting MLA and Health Minister Naba Kishore Das has necessitated the bypoll. ASI Gopal Das opened fire at the minister at Gandhi Chhak in Brajarajnagar on January 29, resulting in the latter’s death.