Mrunal Manmay Dash

Congress candidate for the Jharsuguda bypoll, Tarun Pandey filed his nomination on Saturday. Pandey took out a rally from Manmohan ME School ground before submitting his application at the sub-collector’s office.

Pandey was accompanied by OPCC Chief, Sarat Pattanayak, and senior MLAs Suresh Routray and Santosh Singh Saluja.

“Jharsuguda has not seen any development in the last 23 years. In fact, the district is marred by widespread corruption. My father did a lot of good things for the people. I am sure the voters have remembered that and will give me a chance to take his legacy ahead,” said Pandey before filing his nominations.

Speaking about their candidate, OPCC Chief, Sarat Pattanayak said, “Tarun Pandey is the son of this soil. Congress party has made him candidate. I am sure he will toil hard for the development of Jharsuguda. As far as the issues are concerned, Naba Das’ murder and the collapse of the law and order situation in Jharsuguda will take centre stage.”

“This area has a lot of industries and plants, but sadly, only a few locals are employed there. It forces them to migrate to other states for jobs,” he added.

On the other hand, BJD candidate, Dipali Das received her ticket from party supremo Naveen Patnaik at Naveen Niwas on Saturday.

As per reports, she will file her nominations on April 18.

“I formally received the party ticket today and took the blessings of party president Naveen Patnaik. I promised to make him proud. I hope to win this by-election by a big margin,” Das said.

The voting for the Assembly Constituency will be held on May 10 and the counting of votes will be done on May 13.

While submission of nominations for the bypoll will continue till April 20, scrutiny of the same will be held on April 21. Nominations for the by-election can be withdrawn till April 24.

  • Reported by:
  • Bhagirathi Sahu

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now