Odishatv Bureau

The BJP on Wednesday announced the name of Tankadhar Tripathy as its candidate for the Jharsuguda bypoll. 

Tankadhar's name was declared by the party's Central Election Committee on Wednesday evening.

"It is all due to the blessings of the Jharsuguda residents. The people, youths & women of Jharsuguda are all candidates of the BJP. This will be a fight between the common public and the 29 years of neglect meted out by the current government," said Tankadhar.  

Tankadhar will be contesting against BJD candidate Dipali Das & Congress' Tarun Pandey.

The bypoll to the Jharsuguda Assembly constituency was necessitated after the seat fell vacant following the assassination of MLA and the then Health Minister, Naba Das.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has already announced the date for the by-election to the Jharsuguda Assembly seat. Voting for the Assembly Constituency will be held on May 10 and counting of the votes will be done on May 13. 

While submission of nominations for the bypoll will continue till April 20, scrutiny of the same will be held on April 21. Nominations for the by-election can be withdrawn till April 24.