Mrunal Manmay Dash

Five eminent artistes from Odisha were awarded the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award 2020 and 2021.

Odissi dancer Rabindra Atibudhi and Chhau dancer Trilochan Mohanta received the award for the year 2020.

“This award recognises my hard work and determination for Chau dance which I have pursued since my childhood. I am very happy to receive the award from the President. My dream is to spread the Mayurbhanj Chau dance internationally,” said Trilochana Mohanta.

Similarly for 2021, singer Susmita Das was awarded for Sugam Sangeet while, Bijay Kumar Jena got the award for dance and Manoj Pattnaik for theatre direction.

After getting the award, Playwright Manoj Pattnaik said, “The award is a responsibility. After today, I will have to do plays more seriously and every play I direct will be scrutinized as an award winning director. I am grateful to the Akademi for selecting me.”

All the awardees received a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh, a 'tamrapatra' and an 'angavastram' each from President Droupadi Murmu in an event held at Vigyan Bhavan in Delhi.

(Reported By Sibananda Rout, OTV)