Mrunal Manmay Dash

In view of the ongoing State-wide strike by a few drivers' association, a task force has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Odisha Chief Secretary to ensure smooth movement of essential commodities in the State.

The task force includes, Director General of Police, Development Commissioner, Principal Secretary Commerce & Transport, Principal Secretary Food Supplies & Consumer Welfare and the Transport Commissioner.

The task force will meet as frequently as required and take necessary action to ensure free movement of essential commodities.

Three Control Rooms (24x7) have been established for the same.

1. State Emergency Response Center Tel. No. 112

2. Office of the Transport Commissioner, Odisha Tel. No. 1800-345-1073

3. Food Supply & Consumer Welfare Department, Odisha Tel No. 0674-2393644

The task force held its first meeting on Thursday evening and monitored the current situation. As per a government press release, “Various steps have been initiated by task force to ensure smooth movement of essential commodities. Alternate strategies have been put in place for movement of various commodities including fuel, to avoid any inconvenience to the public.”

Meanwhile, the agitating Drivers' Association met the Chief Secretary in presence of senior officers to discuss about their demands. Chief Secretary assured the association to consider and resolve the demands appropriately, within 3 months.

The drivers' association has indicated to cooperate and consider the assurance.

(Reported By Harihar Chand, OTV)