Rashmi Ranjan

After suffering a humiliating loss in the recently-concluded Jharsuguda bypoll, the Odisha unit of the Congress party on Monday blamed its own party leaders for the poll debacle.

Also Read | BJD’s Dipali Das wins Jharsuguda Bypoll Battle; Defeats BJP Candidate by Over 48000 Votes

Launching a scathing attack on Cuttack Barabati MLA Mohammed Moquim and senior leader Chiranjib Biswal for their anti-party remarks, the Jharsuguda unit of the party held the duo responsible for the poor performance in the bypoll. 

Ashok Mishra, Jharsuguda district Congress President said, “Despite enjoying all powers, the way they criticised the party is not acceptable at all. Their criticism came at a time when Jharsuguda was gearing up for the bypoll. From their statements, it is quite evident that they are associated with some other parties.” 

“Our slogan for Jharsugda bypoll was – ‘Mati Ra Pua. But, we did not succeed. We respect voters' mandate,” said Tarun Pandey, Congress candidate for the Jharsuguda bypoll.

Meanwhile, a three-member Congress committee is likely to visit Jharsuguda to find out the reason behind the party's poor show in the bypoll.

"A three-member Congress committee will visit Jharsuguda and submit report as to why our vote share has declined," said Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Sarat Pattanayak.

Notably, Dipali Das, daughter of former Odisha Health Minister Naba Das, emerged victorious in the bypoll after securing a total of 1,07,003 votes. While BJP’s Tankadhar Tripathy managed to poll 58,384 votes in his favour, Congress candidate Tarun Pandey got only 4473 votes.

  • Reported by:
  • Bhagirathi Sahu