Pradeep Pattanayak

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik gave away ‘police medals’ to 28 selected officials for their excellent service on the occasion of the 77th Independence Day on Tuesday at the Lok Seva Bhawan in Bhubaneswar. While one officer was felicitated with the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service, Police Medals for Meritorious Service were conferred upon 11 officials and 16 received Police Medals for Gallantry. 

Expressing his happiness, ACP Himanshu Swain said, “I feel proud for working in the Odisha Police. I can say the department has recognized my honest work. Those who are working sincerely for the department are also being felicitated.”

“I would like to say to those officers who are joining the department that they should consider their jobs as service, instead of a profession,” he added. 

Sharing his feelings, ASI Bijnan Bhushan Mohanty said, “Even though there are many officers of my rank in the department, 80 percent of the department knows me as a teacher. I have taught the technicalities of the Crime and Criminal Tracking Network & System (CCTNS) to almost all officers across the state. And I am still teaching.”

List of awardees:

President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service:

Prahllad Kumar Rout, Vigilance constable 

Police Medals for Meritorious Service:

Jatin Kumar Panda, Additional SP

Pradyumna Kumar Mishra, Additional SP

Sudhanshu Sekhar Pujari, Sundargarh Vigilance Division 

Himanshu Swain, ACP, Commissionerate Police 

Jnanendra Das, PTI Deputy Commandant 

Arun Baliarsingh, SIW Inspector 

Jugal Kishore Pradhan, ASI, Berhampur Vigilance Division

Sarwadin Khan, Constable, Cuttack Vigilance office 

Bijnan Bhushan Mohanty, ASI, SCRB, Bhubaneswar

Anil Minz, Drill Inspector, Biju Patnaik Police Academy

Pradeep Behera, Fourth Battalion jawan, Rourkela

  • Reported by: