Vikash Sharma

A special session of Odisha Assembly began on Tuesday for the oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected MLAs. Chief Minister Mohan Mahi first took oath as MLA after which two deputy CMs- KV Singh Deo and Pravati Parida were administered oath by the Pro-Tem Speaker Ranendra Pratap Swain. BJD president and Hinjili MLA Naveen Patnaik also took oath today along with several other MLAs.

As per reports, all 147 MLAs are scheduled to be administered oath on June 18 and June 19. The Odisha Assembly Speaker election is scheduled for June 20. This time, the BJP has formed government by defeating the BJD. The BJP won 78 seats in the 2024 elections while its number in the Assembly rose to 81 after three independent MLAs extended support to the party. 

What MLAs Said….

BJP’s Digapahandi MLA Sidhant Mohantra, who reached Odisha Assembly on a bicycle, said, “I will try to come to Odisha Assembly and other places on bicycle always. We can also use public transport, bicycles if we have to cover a short distance. There is no need of law for it; rather, cooperation of all is needed.”

Newly elected BJP MLA from Satyabadi, Om Prakash Mishra said, “The way people have supported me, it is time to repay them. As there are basic problems of irrigation, drinking water and other issues, I will ensure drinking water reaches the doorstep of people. Panchayat-wise target is being fixed. As people from Kanas migrate to other parts of the country including Surat in search of work, I will try to provide them jobs here.”

Korei MLA Akash Das Nayak said, “It is important for me to take oath as MLA as we took a new step towards fulfilling the dream of a developed Korei and Odisha. It is time to take oath on how we can work for Odisha and our own constituency. Odisha Assembly is place where we can raise voice and under PM Modi and CM Mohan Majhi’s leadership; we will work dedicatedly towards a developed Odisha.”

BJD MLA from Deogarh, Romancha Ranjan Biswal said, “Our party supremo today also told us to serve people. We have a crucial meeting of legislature party and we will discuss several issues. Whatever decision is taken by the party, we will abide by it. Victory or defeat happens in elections and the senior leaders will review all aspects.”

BJD MLA from Puri, Sunil Mohanty said, “With the blessings of people, I have taken oath as MLA. The BJD had served people for long and this time they allowed the BJP to form government and voted for change. The opposition also has a crucial role. When my father late Maheswar Mohanty first became MLA in 1995, he was in the Opposition. Whatever the ruling party MLAs could not do, my father did the works. I feel a similar thing happening this time.”

In her reaction, BJD MLA from Basta, Subasini Jena said, “I will try to serve people in a better and efficient manner cutting across party lines.”

  • Reported by:

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now