Himansu Shekhar Rout

The Odisha government effected a minor reshuffle in the Police department on Wednesday and issued transfer and posting orders for some IPS officers.

According to a notification of the Home Department, IPS Awinash Kumar, who is currently DIG of Police, SAP, has been transferred as Additional CP, Commissionerate of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack while Brijesh Kumar Ray, presently working as Additional CP, Commissionerate of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack, has been posted as DIG of Police, Intelligence in-charge, (Security Wing). 

Dayal Gangwar has been appointed as ADG (Police Modernization) while IPS officer Rajesh Kumar, currently posted as ADGP, Modernisation, has been transferred as ADGP, Railways & Coastal Security with the Additional charge of Director of the State Forensic Sciences Laboratory (SFSL).

Significantly, 1989-batch woman IPS officer B Radhika took voluntary retirement after the state government approved her application. She was the chairperson of the Police Recruitment Board and was given additional charge as the Director of SFSL. 

The senior woman IPS officer had previously served as Additional Director General (ADG) of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) under the Home Ministry. She was reportedly among three contenders for the post of Odisha DGP before the retirement of Sunil Kumar Bansal on December 31.