Mrunal Manmay Dash

Following the tragic train mishap in Andhra Pradesh on Sunday evening, the Vizianagaram district administration released the list of 11 deceased who have been identified so far out of the 14. None of them are from Odisha.

Apart from that, 52 passengers were injured in this mishap who were admitted to Vizianagaram hospital for treatment. While 29 have already been discharged, 23 of them are still under treatment. As per the administration, three of them are seriously injured.

Out of the 14 deceased, nine are males, two are females while three bodies are yet to be identified.

The list of the deceased includes SMS Rao (loco pilot) and M Srinivas (Guard of Palasa Passenger Train).

Notably, the Visakhapatnam-Palasa Passenger train (08532) and Visakhapatnam-Rayagada Passenger Special train (08504) were involved in the accident which occurred on Sunday evening between Alamanda and Kantakapalle in Vizianagaram-Kottavalasa Railway Section of Waltair Division of East Coast Railway Zone.

Meanwhile, the restoration work on the railway track is going on to make it fit for the trains to run on it by this evening.

As per the latest reports, Odisha Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Sudam Marndi and Special Relief Commissioner Satyabrata Sahu have been sent to the accident spot in a bid to extend Odisha’s support in the tragic accident.