Mrunal Manmay Dash

The Odisha Higher Education Department has decided to open Plus 3 colleges in the arts stream in 18 blocks of nine districts that do not have government degree colleges.

In a notification, the department said, “In order to have equity and to promote higher education in un-covered blocks, the State government is going to open government degree (+3 Arts) colleges in 18 blocks of Odisha from the academic session 2024-25.”

The blocks where the degree colleges will come up are Gumma, Dharakote in Ganjam; Thuamul Rampur in Kalahandi; Khajuripada in Kandhamal; Bandhugaon, Narayanpatna in Koraput; Chitrakonda in Malkangiri; Tiring in Mayurbhanj; Tentulikhunti, Koshagumuda, Jharigam, Raighar in Nabarangpur; Kashipur, Ramanaguda, Chandrapur in Rayagada; Nuagaon, Gurundia, Kuarmuda in Sundargarh.

The department has directed the concerned district collectors to identify and provide 10 acres of land within a 5 km radius of the Block headquarters for the purpose.

Classes will be conducted in temporary buildings until the required infrastructure for the degree colleges is built.

  • Reported by: