Cassian Baliarsingh

The newly-constructed Parliament building will be dedicated to the nation on Sunday, May 28 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla. 

The date coincides with the birth anniversary of VD Savarkar and the new Parliament Building symbolises the spirit of self-reliant India. 

Even though the exact details of the inauguration have not been made public yet, reports in ANI suggest that the inaugural ceremony will take place in two phases.

Here’s a look at the schedule of the inauguration ceremony:
1.    Ahead of the inaugural ceremony, all the rituals will begin in the morning near Mahatma Gandhi statue in Parliament. PM Modi is likely to participate in the morning puja rituals.
2.    Later, the sacred Sengol is likely to be installed right next to the Speaker’s chair. Priests from Tamil Nadu, including the jeweller who has designed it will be present.
3.    The morning phase will end at around 9:30 am.
4.    The second leg of the ceremony will begin at noon with the singing of the National Anthem in the Lok Sabha chamber.
5.    Two short audio-video films likely to be showcased for dignitaries including PM Modi about the process of the construction of the new Parliament building.
6.    Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla is likely to give a speech on the occasion.
7.    PM Modi will release a coin and stamp on the historic occasion.
8.    The Vote of Thanks will be delivered by Lok Sabha Secretary-General and close the ceremony.
9.    Industrialist Ratan Tata whose company TATA has constructed the new building and the chief architect Bimal Patel will also have been invited.
10.    Invitation has also been sent to prominent film stars and sports persons.
11.    The new Parliament building will enable 888 members to sit in the Lok Sabha.

Amid boycott call by the Opposition, at least 25 political parties are going to participate in the inauguration ceremony. Several parties like BJD, TDP and YSRCP will be present for the inauguration.