Ashish Kumar Manthan

15 Gati Shakti Cargo Terminals (GCTs) have been commissioned so far and around 96 more locations have been provisionally identified for development of (GCTs), informed Ministry of Railways on Wednesday.

The target is to commission 100 Gati Shakti cargo terminals in the next three years. The location of GCTs is being decided on the basis of demand from industry and potential of cargo traffic, the Ministry added.

The government in a press release said, “It has been targeted to commission 100 Gati Shakti Cargo Terminals within next three financial years. The location of GCTs is being decided on the basis of demand from industry and potential of Cargo Traffic.”

Private players are building the Gati Shakti Cargo Terminals (GCTs), which may be built entirely or partially on railroad property. The operators will choose the site and build the terminal after receiving the required permits for GCTs to be established on non-Railway land.

The land parcels will be specified by the railroad, and the operator for the building and operation of the terminal will be chosen through an open tendering procedure, if GCTs are to be established entirely or substantially on railway property.

All new proposals for GCTs will be received only through online portal. Till 10.10.2022, In-principle approvals for 67 new proposals have been issued.

The 15 Gati Shakti Cargo Terminals commissioned so far are:

• South Eastern Railway - Jai Balaji Industries - Barajamda – Barbil

• South Eastern Railway - OMPL (Orissa Metalliks) – Gokulpur

• East Coast Railway - Paradip East Quay Coal Terminal Pvt Ltd, Paradeep

• Eastern Railway - Maithon Power Ltd Siding – Thaparnagar

• South Central Railway - IOCL - Nakkanadoddi/Guntakal

• North Eastern Railway - Hindustan Urvark Rasayan Ltd - Nakha Jungle

• Western Railway - CONCOR – Varanama

• North East Frontier Railway - IOCL (IOMB) – Moinarband

• North Western Railway - Nayara Energy Ltd – Kairla/Jodhpur

• South Central Railway - SCCL – Sattupalli

• South Western Railway - HPCL - Shivadi / Sarai Harkhu

• North Eastern Railway - Ankur Udyog Ltd – Sahjanwa

• North Eastern Railway - Adani Agri - Jasoda/Izat Nagar

• North East Frontier Railway - FCI Siding – Cinnamara

• Eastern Railway - Punjab State Power Corp. Ltd. – Pakur