Rashmi Ranjan

Union Minister of State for External Affairs and Culture Meenakashi Lekhi inaugurated the “Buddham Saranam Gacchami, an exhibition based on the life of Lord Buddha, in the presence of senior Buddhist monks, Ambassadors, diplomats and Ministry officials on Wednesday at the National Gallery of Modern Arts, Delhi.

The exhibition organised in the week succeeding Buddha Purnima was based on the life of Lord Buddha and showcased the voyage of Buddhist art and culture around the world, exhibiting works of art by iconic masters of modern Indian art, divided into sections, each documenting a distinct facet of Buddhism and Buddha's life. 

These artistic works that have been put on display offer a glimpse into the history and philosophy of one of Buddhism.



Kundeling Tatsak Rinpoche of the Drepung Gomang Monastery was the Guest of Honour at the event. The exhibition is open to the public till June 10 at the National Gallery of Modern Arts, India Gate.

The exhibition which started with the lighting of lamp and presentation of Angavastra amidst chanting by senior Buddhist monks was followed by a performance of “Shweta Mukti” which showcased feminine glory of Nirvana presented in Odissi Dance style by Kavita Dwibedi and her troupe. 

While addressing the gathering, Venerable Kundeling Rinpoche emphasised the relevance and importance of compassion in the Buddha’s teachings and urged everyone to practice compassion in their daily lives. 

Addressing the gathering, Meenakashi Lekhi mentioned that the teachings of the Buddha remain ever so relevant today as 2500 years ago. She mentioned that though Siddhartha Gautam was born in Lumbini, he got his enlightenment in Bodh Gaya and today both the places – in Nepal and India, bind the two countries strongly together. 

Notably, the exhibition was attended by most of the countries which have significant Buddhist populations such as Nepal, Myanmar, Mongolia, South Korea, Thailand, and Bhutan. The exhibition also saw the participation of Ambassadors from countries like Denmark, Greece, Luxembourg, Jamaica, Portugal, Georgia, Iceland, Ecuador, Syria, Peru and senior diplomats from many others.