Odishatv Bureau

Alumni are the pride of the University. Their role in its development is crucial. They play a very important role in the development of an institution as they are the source of inspiration to new students with their achievements and accomplishments, noted speakers at the 2nd Annual Function celebrations of Utkal University Alumni Association.

It was an exceptional occasion to reinforce the bonds and share their memories, experiences and accomplishments.

Presided over by Alumni Association President and former Chief Secretary Bijay Kumar Patnaik, the occasion was graced by former minister Prasad Kumar Harichandan, Dr. Arun Sahu, Utkal University Vice-Chancellor Professor Sabita Acharya, professor Durgashankar Patnaik and Abhaya Nayak.

Utkal University Alumni Meet Guests at the dias during Utkal University Alumni Meet

The programme started with the beautiful patriotic song ‘Tunga Sikhari Chula’. Later, Alumni Association Editor Prof. Ashok Das delivered the welcome speech and presented the editorial details.

The guests handed over awards to the winners of many competitions held earlier in the varsity.

Alumni Association member Dr. Debasish Mahapatra presided over the program while the Alumni Association Executive Committee member Gadadhar Rath delivered the Vote of Thanks.

On this occasion, a cultural programme was later organized under the guidance of University Alumni Connect co-ordinator Prof. Mitali Chinara, Prof. Anusuya Nath, Alumni Association executive member Anindita Das and Pragya Patnaik.

It was moderated by Dr. Sandeep Mohapatra. A photo exhibition was inaugurated by the guests on this occasion. Earlier today, former student and Development Commissioner Pradeep Kumar Jena flagged the ‘Clean and Green Vani Vihar’ march. Mr. Jena unveiled the logo for the ‘Clean and Green Vani Vihar’ campaign, which will be held from today till a year.

Students take part in the Clean and Green Vani Vihar campaignStudents take part in the Clean and Green Vani Vihar campaign

About a thousand present and former students participated in the campaign and marched around the campus.

Also present at the program were Alumni Association Vice-President Debendra Prasad Das, Joint Editor Raghunath Panwari, Treasurer Dilip Bisoyi, Joint Treasurer Dr. Veer Kishore Das, Priyabrat Mohanty, Pramod Kumar Patnaik, Dr. Amiya Kumar Mohanty, Tapan Jena, Dr. Narayan Tripathy, Ramesh Chandra Das, Tanmay Swain, Dr. Pradip Rath, Pradipta Kumar Bisoyi, Chinmaya Sahu, Ajay Mahapatra, Ramashankar Pattnaik, Radhakant Pani, Santosh Kamila, Birabhadra Singh, Rajeshraj Swain, Arup Srichandan, Soumya Ranjan Mahapatra, Santosh Sehty and many other former students.