• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Justices Subhasis Talapatra and Sanjay Kumar Mishra were sworn in as the judges of the Orissa High Court on Friday. The swearing-in-ceremony was held in the conference hall of the HC.

Chief Justice S. Muralidhar administered the oath of office to the newly-appointed judges. 

With the appointment of the two Judges, the number of Judges of the High Court would have risen from the existing 21 to 23. But, since Justice CR Das from Orissa High Court has been transferred to Calcutta High Court, the number would be 22. 

Notably, the Union Ministry of Law and Justice had issued a formal notification on June 3 regarding appointment of the judges and the announcement was made after receiving approval from the President.

While Justice Subhasis Talapatra has been transferred from the Tripura High Court to the Orissa High Court with the recommendation of Supreme Court (SC) Collegium, the Collegium had proposed elevation of advocate Sanjay Kumar Mishra as the judge of the HC.

Other Stories