• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

Two police personnel from Odisha including Twin City Police Commissioner Saumendra Kumar Priyadarshi and In-charge SP (Security Wing) Saroj Mohapatra have been decorated with the prestigious President’s Medal for distinguished service on Independence Day.

A total of 1,082 Police personnel have been awarded Police Medals on the occasion of Independence Day 2022.

Both Priyadarshi and Mohapatra from Odisha are among 87 other police personnel who have been awarded the President’s Medal.

Of the total 1,082 Police personnel, 347 have been awarded Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), 87 have won the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPM) while Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PM) has been bestowed upon 648 personnel.

Out of the 347 gallantry awards, 204 personnel are being awarded for their gallant action in Jammu and Kashmir, 80 for displaying bravery in Left Wing Extremism or Naxal violence affected areas and 14 personnel for showing bravery in North-East Region, the Union Home Ministry said.

The maximum gallantry medals, 109, have been received by the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) followed by 108 to the J&K Police, 19 to the Border Security Force (BSF) and six each to the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).

Here’s The List Of Personnel From Odisha:

President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPM)

1. Saumendra Priyadarshi, Twin City Police Commissioner

2. Saroj Mohapatra, In-charge SP (Security Wing)

Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG)

1 Kumar Karmi, Commando

2. Pitabasa Pande, Commando

Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PM)

1. Prakash Naik, Additional SP, Vigilance (Cell) Directorate, Cuttack

2. Sachidananda Rath, Deputy Superintendent of Police, STF, CID, CB, Bhubaneswar

3. Guruprasad Shivsankar Nanda, Deputy Superintendent of Police, B.P.S.P.A, Bhubaneswar

4. Banita Majhi, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Rourkela

5. N. Trinath Dora, Sub-Inspector, CID, CB, Cuttack

6. Mohammed Jahangir, Assistant Sub-Inspector, Special Squad

7. Bishnu Kumar Bura, Havildar, OSAP 2nd Battalion, Jharsuguda

8. Hrusikesh Barik, Driver Havildar, Angul

9. Basant Kumar Dakua, Assistant Armourer, SOG, AET and RC Koraput

10. Anjan Kumar Mohanty, Constable, DFSL Sundargarh

11. Prashant Parida, Sepoy, OSAP 3rd Battalion, Koraput

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.