• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Ramakanta Biswas

The Odisha government on Tuesday handed down compulsory retirement to five employees on charges of corruption and inefficiency.

Those sent on forced retirement include an Odisha Administrative Service (OAS) officer, two police officials and two municipality executive officers.  

Former Tehsildar of Bonai in Sundargarh, Sushil Kumar Kujur has been given compulsory retirement for his involvement in corruption. He had allegedly siphoned MGNREGS funds during his stint as Dhenkanal Sadar BDO resulting in loss of Rs 24.22 lakh to the State exchequer. 

Kalahandi Investigating Unit for Crime Against Women (IUCAW) DSP Rabindra Sethi and Inspector of Bangomunda Police Station in Bolangir district Binod Nayak has also been shown door on charges of corruption. 

Moreover, Basudevpur Municipal Executive Officer Tapas Jena and Karanjia (Notified Area Council) NAC’s former executive officer Bijay Nayak have been given mandatory retirement by the State government.   

With this, the State government has fired as many as 151 officers on charges of corruption in over last one year.

Notably, the State government had earlier fired a senior Indian Forest Service (IFS) officer and a senior Indian administrative service (IAS) officer from duty on charges of corruption.  

Recently senior Indian Administrative Officer (IAS) and former managing director of Odisha Rural Housing and Development Corporation (ORHDC) Vinod Kumar, was dismissed from service following his conviction in a corruption case.

In May last year, the President of India had issued an order for compulsory retirement of tainted Indian Forest Service (IFS) officer Abhay Kant Pathak from his service after accepting the recommendation of the Odisha government.

Other Stories