• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

A formal notification was issued on Wednesday for the bypolls to Brajarajnagar assembly constituency in Jharsuguda district. As per the Election Commission of India (ECI), the voting for the Brajarajnagar bypolls will take place on May 31 and the candidates can file nominations till May 11.

The scrutiny of papers will be held on May 12. Similarly, the last date to withdraw nomination is May 17. The votes will be counted on June 3, 2022.

The candidates can file their nominations from today. It is pertinent to mention here that Brajarajnagar assembly seat fell vacant in December 2021 following the death of sitting BJD MLA Kishore Mohanty . Mohanty had died following cardiac arrest on December 30 last year. He was 63.

Along with Brajarajnagar, Thrikkakara constituency in Kerala and Champawat in Uttarakhand will go to by-polls on the same day. The ECI has decided to use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in all the polling booths for the election.

Other Stories