Vikash Sharma

Several senior leaders of the BJD, who are all set to be inducted in the new team of CM Naveen Patnaik as ministers, on Sunday reiterated their commitment to work to serve people.

As per sources, 13 MLAs will been given cabinet ministerial berths while eight MLAs will be allocated the minister of state portfolio positions.  Naveen’s new team includes new faces, both younger and senior leaders. This is seen as a major exercise to ensure that the party performs well in the crucial 2024 general elections.

After registering thumping victory in Brajarajnagar by-election, the BJD’s seat strength in the Assembly has gone up to 113 in the 147-member Assembly.

Senior leader Pratap Deb said, “I am thankful to CM Naveen Patnaik for reposing faith on me. The CM has felicitated the leaders who have worked hard to strengthen the organisation and also during the recently concluded elections.”

Samir Ranjan Dash said, “I am grateful that I have been re-included in the team. I had tried my best to complete the tasks/ responsibilities that were assigned to me for which I got a second chance.”

Similarly, senior leader Rohit Pujari said, “CM had earlier given me crucial responsibilities. Now I have given a ministerial berth and will work to ensure the development of western Odisha. Whatever portfolio is assigned to me, I will try to give my best.”

Nuapada MLA Rajendra Dholakia said, “It was a happy moment for me when I got a call yesterday regarding my inclusion in the Naveen Patnaik’s new cabinet as I had worked hard for the party.”