Vikash Sharma

News Highlights

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced the schedule of the by-election to Padampur assembly constituency in Odisha.

As per the announcement, the voting in the assembly seat will be held on December 5, 2022. Apart from Padampur, the ECI also announced schedule for four other assembly constituencies including one each in Rajasthan, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Chhattisgarh and one Parliamentary Constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

The Padampur constituency seat had fallen vacant following the death of veteran leader and five-time legislator Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha on October 3, 2022. Bariha, who was undergoing treatment at the hospital, passed away at the age of 65.

Bariha was elected to Odisha Assembly twice on Janata Dal ticket between 1990 and 2000. He again won the Padampur Assembly seat in 2004 and 2009 from BJD ticket and also served as a minister in the ruling party.

Schedule For Padampur Bye Election:

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: November 10, 2022

Last Date of Nominations: November 17, 2022

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: November 18, 2022

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: November 21, 2022

Date of Poll: December 5, 2022

Date of Counting: December 8, 2022

Date before which election shall be completed: December 10, 2022

(Reported by Harihar Chand)