• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Mrunal Manmay Dash

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday handed down compulsory retirement to six more State government officials accused of corruption and inefficiency.

Taking stringent action for ensuring zero corruption in government offices, the State government ordered compulsory retirement to the officials who include a Chief Engineer, three Executive Engineers (EE) and two Block Education Officers (BEO).

The allegations mainly pertain to corruption and graft over which the decision was taken to send the Babus on compulsory retirement.

Sunil Kumar Panda, who worked as the Chief Engineer of Sambalpur Electrical Division was allegedly involved in corruption through which he amassed disproportionate assets to the tunes of Rs 3.26 crore. He was suspended following the vigilance raid only to be handed down CRS by the CM on Wednesday.

Similarly, the Executive Engineer of Berhampur Rural Works Division had a corruption case pending against him which involved DA worth Rs 7.63 crore.

The Executive Engineer (Testing and Calibration) and the Deputy Electrical Inspector, Deepak Kumar Bhuyan had a graft case against him which resulted in the strict action against him.

It is worth mentioning here that the State government had removed six senior government officials from their offices on March 16 over corruption and negligence in duty charges.

As per the data provided by the Chief Minister’s Office, the total count of officials send on compulsory retirement has reached 164 so far.

Other Stories