• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Former chief secretary Asit Tripathy has been elected as president of the prestigious Bhubaneswar Club in the Capital city. Tripathy reportedly defeated contestant Bijay Patnaik by 278 votes.

After the two-day-long election to the Bhubaneswar Club which began on Saturday, the counting of votes was conducted today. While Tripathy bagged a total of 776 votes, Bijay managed to get 498 votes in his favour.

"As per the results which the Returning Officer announced for the President post, I have won the election. I thank the Club's management, the Returning Officer and other officials," said the former top bureaucrat.

Tripathy further said that he contested for the post as it will enable him to contribute towards the dreams of a multi-dimensional club.

Elections to several posts were pending following the demise of the Club's former president Priyabrat Patnaik and the subsequent Coronavirus pandemic situation.

The poll was conducted for a total of six vacant posts like vice-president, secretary and general secretary among others.

On the other hand, in the elections for selection of the office bearers of the Cuttack Club, Sanjukta Mohapatra has won the poll to become the president. 

While Mohapatra has been elected as the president, Satyaki Ghosh was elected as the secretary of the Cuttack Club.

Mohapatra got a total of 446 votes while the other contestants (for the president post) Ananga Mohan Dwibedy and Bijoy Keshari Rout bagged 239 and 206 votes, respectively.

Other Stories